Butter looks a lot like ice cream

I took pictures of food for a local major restaurant chain today.  It was the first time I have ever done such a thing.  Needless to say, I was nervous.  Like… crazy nervous.  Like, hands shaking so much I used my tripod out of necessity.  This was sort of a big deal.  The last time I was this nervous on a shoot was when I did the wedding of a dear friend of mine.

It went well – that’s the moral of the story.  But here are some little lessons I learned along the way:

  1. Butter looks like ice cream.
  2. It’s a good thing because ice cream melts.  FAST.
  3. The only thing that is messier than fast melting ice cream is fast deflating whipped cream.
  4. The food-picture-takers have all sorts of tricks that make it look easy.  And delicious.
  5. I don’t know all of those tricks so I had to rely on reality.
  6. Reality isn’t such a bad thing when photographing food.
  7. Asking the question, “Is this the way it actually looks when you serve it?” makes people look at you like you have a cat on your face.
  8. I did consumers right.  Yes – it is the way they serve it.
  9. I can photograph food better than most mexican restaurants.
  10. I can photograph ice cream without needing to eat it.
  11. And lastly, but certainly not leastly: having the confidence to do it is great.  But someone else having that confidence in you is invaluable.  The words, “I know you’ll do just fine” are possibly the sweetest in the English language.

It was quite the experience, and I was glad to have done it. Looking forward to next time.

Stay tuned for adventures in food picture-taking. 🙂

Leave a Reply

