The type of girl I am

I went to a networking function yesterday for a client of mine.  It’s primarily an industry of men, although there are some women involved.  It was fun and engaging and I learned a lot about certain businesses in that trade.  I also learned that I have a lot more to learn if I want to be a dynamic solution provider for them.

But I digress.  This isn’t about business.  This is about the type of girl I am.

I had a friend once describe me as a “guy’s girl.”  As in: I just fit in better with men than women.  Now, don’t misunderstand me.  I have very strong and deep connections with my female friends.  Like sisters.  Those relationships are very important to me.  So it isn’t like I forego friendships with women over men, at all.

I thought about this last night as I talked with several people.  It starts off with an introduction, and the general stuff: what you do, what they do, little tidbits of information to let each other know how interested we are in continuing the conversation.  Kind of like a first date, only better because there’s no pressure.

The defining difference was that women tend to size me up.  Half-looking, half-listening, half-judging.  Let me be clear: I do the EXACT same thing.  So it isn’t like I hold these ladies accountable for that.  It’s just what we do.  Constantly scanning the room for who we think is better or worse than we are.

Men, on the other hand, are different.  It’s not that they don’t size me up, too.  (Side note for men: you aren’t as subtle as you think when you’re checking me out.)  But once they get past that, we have genuine conversations.  About business, about football, about the economy, about our families.  It’s so much more comfortable for me. 

Last night, after talking business for a while with one gentleman, we settled onto the subject of families.  He has daughter who has some pretty serious issues revolving around addiction.  It so happens to be a subject I know way too much about.  We settled into a very serious conversation about responsibility and enabling and choices and bottom lines.  And it was cathartic for me.  Knowing that just some of what I said gave this man some tools or ideas to go back to his family and try again for the sake of his daughter.

And that’s me.  That’s the kind of girl I am.  I am a guy’s girl who wants to have real conversations about real things in a all-too-real-world.  I was put on this earth to be helpful.  And last night, I found a nice man who needed to hear what I had to say.

Today, I am thankful for the type of girl I am.

Leave a Reply

