‘Tis the season

It’s Christmas.  Or, at least, almost.  I’m not such a big fan of the holiday; but before you get your panties in a bunch, let me explain why.

It isn’t even close to being about what it is supposed to be about.  All of those people who spout off “Jesus is the reason for the season” and get all pissed off because someone says “Happy Holidays” instead of “Merry Christmas” are the same people cutting people off in parking lots, running into people in stores with shopping carts and bitching at the customer service desk – all as they pay homage to the almighty.  Yep.  The almighty dollar.

On the surface, Christmas should be about celebrating the birth of Christ.  But moreover, it should be about sharing and giving and tolerance and forgiveness and love.  Not about obligation, arrogance and money.

In years past, at this point, I was ready to move away to some country that had never even heard of Christmas.  But this year, I have worked pretty hard to stay neutral.  So I don’t hate it, yet.  But the moment is quickly coming.

Instead of devoting this entire post to what Christmas is about now, I decided to list what Christmas should be.  At least, what it should be to me:

  • Sharing
  • Giving to those less fortunate
  • Children
  • The magic of Santa
  • The lessons that Santa teaches us
  • Christ (which isn’t second to Santa.  Actually, I rather consider Santa an extension of Jesus, just dressed up in a jolly suit)
  • Love
  • Happiness
  • Forgiveness – for each other and mostly, for ourselves
  • Joy

Mostly, I want to focus on love.  Christmases really sucked for me when I was young.  It is probably why I am so bah-humbug about it.  Last year was probably the first Christmas in my adult life that was exactly what I wanted it to be.  We opened presents, spent the day lounging around at home enjoying each other, went to Chinese dinner with friends (a quite established Christmas tradition in my home), and then spent the rest of the night with those same friends just being together.  It had little to nothing to do with stuff.  It was about being together and celebrating love and friendship.

And isn’t THAT was Christ was about, anyway?

Leave a Reply

