The countdown to the new year

Here we are: 7 days until the new year begins.  I really enjoy the new year celebration. The idea that there is a milestone moment to wipe the slate clean and start anew is one that seems natural for most human beings.  People say all the time, “I’ll start my diet on Monday,” or “Tomorrow will be better.”  Silly, when you think about it.  Any number of moments could be a moment that you turn something around.

Truthfully, I don’t really have anything I am “turning around.”  Things are going well for me.  I like my job. I am enjoying my life. I’m pretty happy with my body.  Okay, yeah… a goal of mine is to drop some unwanted pounds.  But I don’t have any desire to “diet” like I did when I was crazy (which is a whole other post that, maybe, someday I’ll get to).  Instead, I plan on using the new year to set some goals for things I’d like to achieve, rather than focusing on what I don’t want.  I feel like the other stuff will happen naturally if I stay focused on those goals.

I’d like to focus on thankfulness.  Gratefulness.  I’d like to make that more of a natural occurence than something I so diligently focus on. I’ll get there.  But it will take some effort. I have flirted with using January to make a 30 days of gratefulness challenge for myself.  Still on the fence.  I’ll keep you updated on what I decide.

I’d like to do a marathon.  A full marathon.  I have absolutely NO question in my mind that I can.  I know I can. I just need to buckle down and commit to the event.  Maybe the Denver Marathon.  We’ll see.

I’d like to really have a break-out performance at work this year.  Just really hit it out of the ballpark.  I have a lot of reasons why that is difficult, but I need to focus on how I can make it happen, instead of why it won’t.

Several years back, I was told that my 33rd year would be a peak year for me by a psychic.  Some of the other things she told me have empowered me to make positive changes in my life.  All of the ingredients are present to make that happen this year – my 33rd year.  So, I suppose, what I need to do focus on making this little stew of success.  I’ve been blessed in abundance, and I feel like ignoring those blessings is wasteful.

So, within the next few days I’ll have some great goals set.  Stay tuned.

Oh… and Merry Christmas. 🙂

Leave a Reply

