Resolutions

It’s funny to me when I hear people get all jaded about New Years Resolutions.  If I say, “What are your resolutions this year?”, they’ll get sullen and say, “I don’t make resolutions.”  Or, my personal favorite, “The only resolution I’ve kept is the one to not make resolutions.”  Lame.

Now, let me disclaim that not *all* people are that way, but many are.  Making a resolution has become almost like saying “Bless you” when someone sneezes – obligatory and obviously not meant in any capacity of sincerity.  People make them, and then they break them.  Or they simply don’t make them.

I admire the effort, at least, for those people who choose to even set the goals – regardless of their commitment level.  It’s the people who do nothing that surprise me.  Why wouldn’t you set a goal?  Even a small one?

I’ve run the gammit with setting my own resolutions.  I went from not setting any (and thinking I was “cool” for being unmotivated), to setting very lofty goals (because anything worth doing is worth overdoing), to setting realistic, achievable goals (what is the point if you can’t actually reach the goal?). 

I’m still working on my resolutions.  I will post them here, more as a record for me, when I figure them all out.  Of course, there will be some of the cliché “spend-more-time-with-family-lose-weight-blah-blah-blah” goals, but I am also working on very specific things as well.  Things I know I’ll can do if I make the commitment.  It’s important to me to always challenge myself.  To always set the bar just out of reach – it’s the only way I can grow and evolve into a better human being.

So, where do you sit?  Do you make them to break them?  Do you make them to achieve them?  Do you not make them at all?  And regardless of what choice you make – why do you make that choice?  If you don’t know, you should spend some time thinking about it.

If you do what you’ve always done, you’ll get what you’ve always gotten.  So if you aren’t happy with where you are, begin it today.   Make a change.

Leave a Reply

