Here we go in 2011

I didn’t deliberately not post my resolutions before now.  To be honest, I was still figuring them out.  This year is going to be different – I can feel it in every cell of my body.  I know that great and exciting things are on the horizon.  So in an effort to really follow my own advice and make resolutions that were meaningful and intentional, I took an extra few days.

Here they are in no particular order:

  1. First off – the obligatory one: I will lose more weight in 2011.  Not a massive amount, but enough to continue to keep me feeling good in my own skin.  I don’t know what that number looks like, right now.  Not that I don’t know what that *feels* like, but I know I will know when I get there.
  2. I will remove clutter from my life.  In my heart, in my head and in my space.
  3. I will run a marathon this year.  I may not be able to run a marathon event, but I will run the distance.  I think I have to get that done by October, otherwise I am playing against the weather.
  4. I will take better care with my thoughts.  Beginning with gratefulness.  Starting yesterday, I will take the time to be thankful.  It is the first thing I will think about when I wake up, and the last thing when I go to bed.
  5. I will be intentional with my career.  Really put the effort in, rather than go through the motions.  And do it consistently.
  6. I will photograph the beauty around me.  This year I really struggled with my calendar (ugh…. and even then I screwed up with a fucking typo.  Don’t even get me started on how absolutely devastated I am).  But I digress.  I want to  have albums and albums of images to choose from for next year’s calendar.  Oh… and no typos.
  7. I will be open to the opportunities that  God places in my path.  I feel like I do this anyway, but I will be more open to it this year.
  8. I will spend meaningful time with my family.  My husband and my daughter, but also my father and brothers.
  9. I will try to enjoy the moments as I live in them. 
  10. Finally, I will love.  I will love myself.  And I will love others.  Again, I do this anyway, but I really want to make sure that I always make this a goal.  No matter what, I will love.

I’ll take stock every month, I think.  Just to see where I am at.  I hope that you, also, have made some meaningful choices for yourself. 

Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

