Someone like you

30 Days of Music – Day 1: Name your favorite song

Wow.  Okay, so I have to admit here that I listen to different music daily.  It is so dependent on my mood, and what I am doing; where I am going.  At the end of a long day, I sometimes don’t listen to anything if I am stressed or frustrated.  On the contrary, I will listen to anything “Prince” when I am in a good mood.  He amps me up.

That being said – I leaned on my iPod to tell me what I have been listening to lately (yes… I am a convert to Apple nation, and I couldn’t be happier – but don’t worry.  I’m still me inside).  And right now, the most played song is “Someone Like You” be Adele.

I love this song – I do.  For several reasons:

  1. It gives me an opportunity to pretend I am a real singer.  I love karaoke.  I love Sing Star or whatever game that is on Playstation.  I love singing with people.  I love Sing Sing.  And while I am no Adele, I love getting the opportunity to try my hand at something so beautiful.
  2. Her voice is stunning.  Really.  She has a way with music and her voice that floors me.
  3. There is one part that I love singing, and it’s the ear worm that gets stuck in my head: “I hate to turn up out of the blue uninvited but I couldn’t stay away; I couldn’t fight it. I had hoped you’d see my face and that you’d be reminded that for me, it isn’t over.” That whole thing said in *almost* one breath.  Amazing.  And the words are kind of poignant, too.
  4. The music is glorious.  The syncopation that jazzy, bluesy feel.  I love it.  I love her whole album (even if it is a little sad).

I’ll mention her again, because there is another song that fits into this 30 days of music thing.  But for me, right now, today, as I type this, that is my favorite.

Leave a Reply

