Paper planes

30 days of music – Day 2: Name your least favorite song. (Side note: I get that day 2 and day 3 were out-of-order.  Whoops. I got a little dyslexic on the scheduling.)

Disdain.  Abhor.

There are no words to accurately describe the disgust I have for this song: Paper Planes by M.I.A.  And, no, it isn’t like many songs I don’t like because they remind me of something or somebody bad.  Actually.  If anything, this song would make the good column because, technically, it reminds me of my husband.

Above that, though, this song is terrible.  Terrible.  Let me say it again, so that it sinks in.  T.E.R.R.I.B.L.E.  Ugh…. I stood on the fence about actually even putting in the song in as a link, because I don’t think that anyone should be subjected to it… but who knows.  Maybe you like it.  If so, I feel sorry for you a little.

There is no sense to be made from this song.  Random clips of other sounds that are needless.  Like, seriously – what the hell is up with the whole gunshots and cash register sound?  Except for Pink Floyd’s “Money” – there is never an excuse for a cash register sound in a song.  And I only let it slide for Floyd because it was an opening in the song.  Not repeated over and over and over to fill space.

Let me say – that there are two things that ruin a song.  Repetition (as in “Womanizer by Britney Spears) and any insert of the word “woo hoo” (with the exception of the woo hoo song… you know it – “Song 2” by Blur).
**Side note, thanks to two of my besties for ruining both of those things for me.  Now, it’s all I can hear.  I can’t even hear Womanizer without silently counting how many times she says it.

For the record, she says it thirty-five times.

Anyway… there we go.  I’m glad to be done with this one.  I didn’t even listen to it, outside of the 16.3 nanoseconds that it took me to grab the link.  I’m looking forward to the rest of the month.  Already, I am invigorated.  I heart music, even when it’s this shitty song.

Leave a Reply

