Lullabye

30 days of music: Day 5 – Name a song that reminds you of someone

This one could be four or five days worth of posts.  I am very much associative.  I can be in a place, and hear a song and that will remind me of that place forever.  Or I can hear a song with one phrase or one word and it will remind me of a person forever.  Or it could be a moment in time; sometimes I hear a song and that moment in time is frozen and it that song becomes the theme for the moment.

So, you can imagine how difficult this one is for me.

I chose “Lullaby” by the Dixie Chicks.  One of my favorites, and it reminds me of my daughter.  She used to listen to that album when she fell asleep and think of me.  Now, she’s older and into bands like “Blood on the Dance Floor” – which sounds horrifying to me.  But then, and always, it reminds me of her.

But there are others.  And here they are in no particular order, with no specific references to who:

  • Miss You Much – Janet Jackson
  • For What it’s Worth – Buffalo Springfield
  • You’ve Got a Friend – James Taylor
  • Sweet Child O’ Mine – Guns and Roses
  • Hysteria – Def Leppard
  • The Road to El Dorado – Elton John
  • Just Like Heaven – The Cure
  • Life is a Highway – Tom Cochrane
  • Radar Love – Golden Earring
  • Again – Janet Jackson
  • Pony – Ginuwine
  • Still of the Night – Whitesnake
  • Have You Ever Needed Someone So Bad – Def Leppard
  • Ain’t Talkin’ ‘Bout Love – Van Halen
  • Color My World – Chicago
  • Hands to Heaven – Breathe
  • Whip It – Devo
  • Erotic City – Prince
  • Delirious – Prince
  • In My Head – Jason Derulo
  • Anytime, Anyplace – Janet Jackson

I could go on and on.  As I am sitting here, spinning my wheels on the soft landscape of memory-lane, it seems that almost every song reminds me of someone.  And not, particularly, because of the words.  Sometimes it was just that I was with them when it was on.  Sometimes it’s because at that period of time, it’s what was on the radio.

And there are some that are very powerful.  Some that, quite literally have me stopped and frozen in time.

But sheesh – it takes me back.  Quiet moments; fun times; all part of the myriad of fantastic memories I have.

Leave a Reply

