Smells like teen spirit

30 days of music – Day 8: Name a song you know all the words to

What’s funny about this 30 days of music thing is that I am pretty sure that people who aren’t musically inclined have to think hard for some of the answers.  But they would be the people unlikely to do it.

Anyway, I digress.

I know the words to lots and lots and lots of songs.  I’ll eventually forget my own name, probably, and remember all the lyrics to Vogue; it’s a crazy fucked up world we live in.

Once I decide that I like a song, it’s an earworm that gets stuck in my head for days.  I become almost obsessive until I learn all the words to the song.  I say almost – I mean, I do.  Obsessed.

Again, in no apparent order:

  • Vogue – Madonna
  • Honky Tonk Badonkadonk –  Trace Adkins
  • Piano Man – Billy Joel
  • The Day the Music Died – Don McLean
  • Who Knew – Eminem
  • If I Knew Then – Lady Antebellum
  • Dancing on the Ceiling – Lionel Ritchie
  • Holier than Thou – Metallica
  • Got to Give it Up – Marvin Gaye
  • Wasted Youth – Meatloaf
  • Something in your Mouth – Nickelback
  • From Afar – Van Halen
  • Gett Off – Prince

And the list goes on and on.

The song I chose to feature was Smells Like Team Spirit by Nirvana.  This song is the epitome of my youth – although Nirvana had been around for a long time prior to this song, and this album, it takes me straight back to high school when I hear it.  And yes, I know all the words.  Even though he sounds like he has marbles in his mouth.  My favorite lyric? “She’s over-bored, self-assured.  Oh no, I know a dirty word.”

Hells to the yeah.  Thanks, Kurt, for throwing that little dig in at society.

Leave a Reply

