Local on the 8s

30 days of music – Day 10: Name a song you can fall asleep to

I can’t fall asleep to music at all.  Just hearing music, any music, lights up the synapses of my brain like a freakin’ Christmas tree.  Every song, every melody, reminds me of something.  Or, it just settles into my brain to bury itself in my consciousness.  Either way, music isn’t something that puts me to sleep.

The only thing I can think of that I zone out to in terms of music is The Weather Channel.  Yeah, you read that right: The Weather Channel.  Specifically, the Local on the 8s.  I am not sure why, but that has always been what soothes the savage beast.  I can relax to it; I can study to it; I can work to it; I can fall asleep to it.  In a pinch, when I do experience those rare moments of insomnia, it is one of the few things that will get me back to the point that I can fall asleep.

So, in the morning, if the hubs wakes up and finds that the station was tuned to The Weather Channel, he can assume that I’ve had a rough night and proceed accordingly.

Outside of that, there are a couple of songs that I can listen to when I can’t listen to anything else:

  • Bella’s Lullaby – from the Twilight Soundtrack (I am a Twi-hard, and I’m not ashamed of it)
  • The Feather Theme – from the Forrest Gump soundtrack

Note that they aren’t something I can fall asleep to, but they can bring my stress level down and relax me.  They are the musical form of chamomile tea or lavender scent.  They just get me back to even.  As a matter of fact, I might listen to them now.

Leave a Reply

