Because I am a queen

30 days of music – Day 15: Name a song that describes you

I have to admit – originally I had picked Darling Nikki, by Prince.  Maybe that is how I describe my alter ego.  I’m not sure.  She doesn’t come out to play very often, but every time I hear that song, I think of myself.  Wow… that sounds vain, doesn’t it?

I also have to admit that I almost put I touch myself by Divinyls.  That song doesn’t remind me of myself, but I almost used my powers for evil, and not good.  Ha ha… however – if I have done my job right, you’re already thinking of that song as you read this.  That is my little joke of the day.  Ha ha for you.

Okay… moving on.  The song I chose: “Because I am a queen” by India Arie.  This should be every woman’s anthem.  Some lines that empower me:

“Am I less of a lady if I don’t wear pantyhose?”

“So get in when you fit in; go on and shine. Clear your mind; now’s the time.  Put your salt on the shelf; go on and love yourself ’cause everything’s gonna be all right.”

“When I look in the mirror, the only one there is me. Every freckle on my face is where it’s supposed to be. And I know my creator didn’t make no mistakes on me.  My feet, my thighs, my lips, my eyes…I’m loving what I see.”

Truthfully, I still struggle every now and then.  Okay… more often than not, I struggle with it.  But every day I get a little closer to self-acceptance.  And isn’t that the goal?  No matter your lot in life, isn’t it better to get to the point where you accept where you are, who you are, and use that as your starting point.

After a somewhat difficult week, inside of me, I was reminded that I am wonderful.  I was reminded that I am loved.  And although I shouldn’t, sometimes I need that.  Just that friendly voice saying, “It’s okay.  I hope tomorrow will be better.”

To be honest, I resist “needing” that.  Maybe that’s how I get so far down into the hole.  If I would just accept what I need, and use that as my starting point to move forward, maybe it would make the daily grind a little earlier.  Yep.  I hear you, Lord.  I’m listening.

We’ll see how that goes.  But yes – I realize that certain words are “whispered” to me on purpose.  And I know that it’s Divinity.

Today, I am grateful.

Leave a Reply

