For what it’s worth

30 days of music – Day 18: Name a song that you would like to hear on the radio more often

I’ve already addressed the whole “I-don’t-listen-to-the-radio” thing.

I don’t know that there is a song I’d like to hear “more” on the radio.  I mean, if I like it, I’ll download it to my beloved iPod.  What I would like to hear more on the radio is music that means something.  One of the things that disappoints me about the radio is that it is full of music that they:

  • Play the hell out of
  • Means nothing (see the previously mentioned Jar of Hearts song)
  • Contribute to the continuing apathy of our youth, and our nation as a whole

I am a hippie, born 20 years too late.  I would have burned my bra, protested the wars, and altogether devoted my life to being and feeling free.  The song I chose is “For what it’s worth” by Buffalo Springfield.  Written in a tumultuous time when music had the power to sway a nation, it was one of the anthems of its time.

There were others – Jimi Hendrix’s Star Spangled Banner, for example.  The crazy, ripping riff in the middle of the song seems out-of-place, but was a musical tribute to the dissonance of the time and a musical slap in the face our government.

Some bands have done it since.  Green Day had their entire album, “American Idiot” devoted to George W. Bush.  Kind of a musical middle finger to his incompetence.

*Side note: No.  I didn’t like the guy.  I am a bleeding heart liberal.  But, that being said, I don’t think he was to blame for the entirety of our nation’s problems.  He was incompetent.  He was not the face our country needed overseas.  He was the catalyst for change.  And sometimes, we need to be reminded the power of our votes.  He did a fine job of that.

*Side side note: Vote.  Every election.  Every time.  I’m sure closer to an election I will spout off about my irritation with those who don’t.  But suffice it to say, it’s important.  There.  I said it.

Every now and then a song will move me.  Every now and then it will point me to a place in my soul that needs attention.  But I think I am a rarity.  I think there are a lot of people in this world who are content to blast their brains into a jelly-submission and turn off their empathy for what’s going on outside their headphones or their car.

So, what I’d like to hear on the radio?  For God’s sake – play something that means something for a change.

Leave a Reply

