Now and forever

30 days of music – Day 16: Name a song you used to love but now you hate

First off, my apologies.  I took a little break over the weekend.  But I’m back. 🙂

A song I used to love but now I hate…. hmmmm…. maybe it isn’t a song.  Maybe it’s a whole band?  I used to love Creed, when they came out.  The radio ruined them for me.  If I hear “Arms Wide Open” again, I’m liable to poke my ears out.

Oooohhhhh…. this is a good one.  “Now and Forever” by Richard Marx.  Many many many moons ago, there was a boy, and I liked him.  A lot.  I loved him, although now I know I wasn’t “in love” with him, thankfully.  He broke my heart into a million jagged pieces.  That was our song.  And now, when I hear it, I want to hurt small animals.

There’s only one other song: Brown Eyed Girl by Van Morrison.  I never really loved this song.  I guess… I liked it though.  And then my husband tells me that the girl before me: this was their song.  Yeah.  Not awesome.  So, now, every time I hear it, I am reminded of that other skank.

I’ve got jealousy issues.  I know.  As a matter of fact, I have a hard time following in anyone’s shadow.  For example. because that was “their song”, I hate it.  If I find out that she called him some pet name, I won’t call him that.  I just want to be unique and extraordinary.  I don’t want any part of me to remind him of someone else.  Certainly, not because I think she’s better.  As a matter of fact, it’s just the opposite.  It’s because I know that I am better.
*Side note: we’ve already established that I am probably too conceited for my own good.  Don’t pretend to be surprised now.  😉

I am singular, and fantastic.  This much, I know.  That being said, I don’t want to mesh into the other half of some girl’s existence in my man’s life.  I want to know that I stand alone in his eyes; in his heart.  I want to know that I make his life special because I am there.  Not because I follow the path that woman has already laid.

I have remind myself that I am already standing alone in his life, because I love him as I do.  But, when I hear some of those songs, I have to fight that jealous streak.

Leave a Reply

