Death doesn’t equal justice

Ahhhh… it’s good to be back.  Now that I can blog, unprompted, about anything I want – it’s on like Donkey Kong.

And here…we…go!

I am most definitely not among those Americans who are celebrating the death of Osama bin Laden.  Before you get your panties in a bunch, let me be clear about something:  I fully understand that this guy was a sleezebag.  I get that he was an evil man who did unspeakable things to our country and to people in countries all over the world.  I get it.  The internet is clogged with the details that catalogue his lifetime.  I’ll pass on going through them, because we already know.  And I understand that this is the by-product of war.  I get that it was likely, if not inevitable, that this man would be murdered.  Whether or not that is right, is not my question.  I get that he was evil and had to be eliminated.

I get it.

However, that being said, I am of the opinion that death doesn’t equal justice.  And justice isn’t dealt at the end of a gun barrel.  It never has been; it never will be.

I am so proud of my country, as a whole.  After 9/11, we moved swiftly to finding bin Laden.  I am proud of our troops who kept peace in tumultuous nations.  Regardless of my personal beliefs on war and, in particular, this war – I do support our efforts overseas.  I am proud that our nation won’t turn a blind eye to injustice.

Which leads me to my first quote:

Social justice cannot be attained by violence. Violence kills what it  intends to create. ~Pope  John Paul II

I will not celebrate death in any capacity.  I will not relish the fact that another human being is dead.  Great.  Just another body to add to the masses.  And the fact that there are so many Americans out there pounding their chests and claiming victory – those are the exact people who are feeding the seething anger of bin Laden’s followers.

There are matters in the Bible, said to be done by the express commandment of God, that are shocking to humanity and to every idea we have of  moral justice. ~Thomas  Paine

We must understand that we are different people.  They have their beliefs; and we, ours.  The deliberate truth here is that they believe just as fervently as we do.  They will fight and die for the same reasons we will.  Their moral compass is set to the doctrine of their beliefs.  They have, quite literally, identified America and their citizens, as agents of evil.  And by parading our “justice” in front of them, we are serving to disrupt the potential for peace.

How would we feel if the tables were turned?  What if our leader – any of them – were to travel to Afghanistan, and were killed?  What if we saw their government take custody of his/her body?  What if we saw their citizens parading around on TV talking about how great they were for killing our leader?

Be not mistaken, retribution will come.  Unfortunately, it is sad that blood will be shed in the name of this “justice.”

I am afraid for our country.  I am afraid for the world.  We have martyred this man.  We have made him the patron saint of his followers that, fanatical or not, will see his death as the opportunity to destroy us.

I don’t know how this will end.  But I know that it isn’t over.  And I urge our citizens to not get complacent thinking that, since the boogie man is dead, we can allow ourselves to let down our guard.  We cannot.  We should not.

God bless our country, but God bless the world.  We all deserve some of His grace in these troubling times.

Leave a Reply

