So what’s the deal with the whole birthday thing?

For reasons I care not to share, I haven’t counted down as vocally as normal; but my birthday arrived on the same day, as it has for many years.

33 years, to be exact.

And I love my birthday.  It should be a national holiday.  Not because I am so great, but because I love it so much.  Because I celebrate my life, and all that I have done with it.

It hasn’t been easy being me.  And lesser people would have been crushed under the weight of the awful things that have happened.  But not me.  Oh no; I take a lickin’ and keep on tickin’.  There’s a joke there… I know. 😉

My birthday is the one day a year that I don’t share with moms, or Christians, or my spouse or America or anything.  It is a holiday about me.  Just me.  And I love that.

Around this time of year, I get a lot of questions to the effect of “do you have big plans,” or “are you getting something special as a present?”  Nope.  I’m not.  I like stuff, don’t get me wrong.  But “stuff” isn’t really my deal.  I don’t need stuff.  I need people.  I need value.  And on my birthday, I’d like to know why I am a valued in the eyes of another.  My friends and family show that by spending time with me, or calling me, and letting me know that I matter to them.  That’s special.

God gave us the gift of life; it is up to us to give ourselves the gift of living well. ~Voltaire

I have long believed that it is our responsibility to live life well.  It cannot be done for us, although it can be done with us.  Living life well after the age of 18 is our sole responsibility.  It is our choice.  We can’t blame others or shrug the blame to someone else when our life isn’t moving along like we planned.

It comes down to me.  It always has.

So in the spirit of positive movement and happy choices, I will say this: The next year of my life will be the year of years.  I will make it count, in every way I can.  I will make the right choices for my body, for my mind and for my soul.  I will step forward and be counted, because I deserve to matter.  I will love, with all my heart.  I will enjoy my time with my family and friends.

This is the only life I’ve got.  And I need to do a better job at making it matter!

So, here’s to me.  Happy birthday to me.  Have a drink in my honor, if you remember.  And when your special day comes around, celebrate your life, too. You deserve it.

Leave a Reply

