How random

Random chance plays a huge part in everybody’s life.  ~Gary Gygax

I have a very many things rattling around in my brain these days.  Unfortunately, it seems that the people I want to hear them are the very people I can’t seem to tell.  In the interest of randomness, while I get a hold of all the randomness inside my head, I thought it’d be fun to play the “random things about me” game.  So, here we go.  25 random things about me.

1. I lived in San Diego for 7 years.  I hated it there.

2. I wanted to be a psychologist when I was in high school.

3. I am definitely not a psychologist now.

4. I went to a total of 15 different schools from pre-school to high school graduation.

5. I have a strong fear of change.

6. That being said, I never stay the same day-to-day.  I don’t have a style that is all my own.  I don’t do my hair or makeup the same way.  Hell, I don’t even know what I like eating from day-to-day.

7. I called someone a dummy once.  I’m no stranger to insults, but dummy?  Yeah, I was 20 when I said that.  Who calls someone a dummy at 20 years old? I instantly regretted it and apologized.

8. I remember, when I gave birth, that saying “my daughter” was a foreign concept.  I only really understood the magnitude when she was 4 days old and I had to register her for something.

9. I hate places without curtains.  Curtains signal that a house has been lived in.  That it is a home.

10. “Never go to bed angry” is the single dumbest advice I have heard people give to newlyweds.  Sure.  Go to bed angry.  Tomorrow is a new day.  You can talk about it then.

11. I really really suck at golf.

12. But I’m great at a very big lot of things.  Like, a lot a lot.

13. I sing like a freakin’ superstar in my car.  In person, too.  And I can harmonize with *any* song.  But I assume no one wants to hear me, so I never sing for them.

14. I *love* my car.  Love is an understatement.  The only car I want more than my Scion XB is a red convertible mustang.  But until that sweet day, I am incredibly happy with my car.

15. My favorite movie of all time is Forrest Gump.  I can quote that movie line-for-line.

16. I think sweat pants are horrible and I don’t own a pair.  It just kinda screams out, “I’ve let myself go.”  I don’t care what other people think, I just don’t want that thought to rattle around in *my* head.

17. I’ve gone to the store on more than one occasion in pajamas or hot rollers, to the dismay of BFF #1.  I generally don’t care what people think about me.

18. My favorite book is Wuthering Heights.  I have a certain penchant for old novels.

19.  The only bug I will tolerate touching me is a ladybug.  All others must die.

20. Most people tend to have a hard time coming up with 25 things, but I am finding it very easy.  Remarkable.  Maybe because my brain works in this sort of randomness.

21. I am reading the Bible and not ashamed to say it.

22. I completely enjoy helping people.  It is one of God’s beautiful blessings to reach outside of yourself and help someone else.

23. I find that I am becoming more and more afraid of technology as I grow older.  Not that I am afraid… I guess it’s more that I don’t want to be bothered by learning something new that will be outdated in a month.

24. I am a fabulous cook, but I suck at baking.  I should invest some time in getting better, but I keep finding things I’d rather cook than bake.

25. I wish I were handier.  I love getting my hands dirty with yard work, handy things around the house.  But, sadly, I don’t know how to do very much.  And I am afraid that I will break something if I try.  So I limit my risk taking to things that are easy to correct when I screw it up.

25a.  I hate messing it up.  And I get extraordinarily pouty when I do.  So… I need to learn to be a better loser.

Leave a Reply

