6pm came and went, now didn’t it?

Some say the world will end in fire, some say in ice. ~Robert Frost

I realize I’m a little late in the whole “end-of-the-world” thing-a-ma-jig commentary.  That’s fine.  I knew that everyone and their dog would have something to say on the topic.  My take is, as always, my take.  And it took me a little while to process what I as really thinking about the whole thing.

Firstly, no, I knew the world wasn’t ending on May 21st at 6pm.  Precisely *because* it was so specific.  No, I don’t think that God has passed any more or less judgement on us than He normally has/does.  No, I don’t think the world is ending on October 21st.

I am quite strong in my convictions.  I am very deliberate in my faith.  I’ve slacked off with praying, but not because I haven’t felt a connection to God, I have just been so tired at night.  That is my “prayer” time; but be clear – I pray a lot.  During the day, I thank God for my blessings.  In the morning, I ask Him to walk with me and help me be a better person.  Sometimes, on the way home, I ask him for joy and blessings.  I’ve learned to pray for what I need, and quit being wishy-washy with it.

But that leads me to what I am really writing about today.  I don’t know when the world is going to end.  There have been naysayers for hundreds thousands of years.  It isn’t a new thing.  But every now and then, some yahoo will come along and, all the sudden, we feel compelled to take ownership in his misgivings- mainly because we are looking for a way out.  For some, it’s a way out of their lives.  For others, it’s a reason to release the burdens they have been carrying around.  For me?  I found no way out in his nonsense.

Instead, what it brought to the front of my mind was… what if?  Not, “What if he is right?”  But what if things ended today?  Where would I be, metaphorically speaking?  What kind of person would I be?  What regrets would I have?  Do I think I’ve given this life all I’ve got?  Have I wasted too much time on nonsense?  Have I contributed to the problems on this planet?

We can all feel it – something is off.  Our planet is very upset with us.  Is it global warming?  Is it the end-of-days?  I don’t know.  And, truthfully, I almost don’t care.  I know what my plans are.

I plan to continue living well.  I plan to enjoy my life.  I plan to try not to waste any time on things that don’t support my starring role in this life.  Generally, I just want to be helpful in my own life.  I want the ripples of my life to be a positive thing for other people.  I want people to be inspired by my existence, rather than wounded.

I’ve long made my peace with God.  When the day comes when He brings me home, I hope I can sit back and say, “I did good.”  I know, not, the day or time, but when it happens, I want to know I have done all I can with the life I was so graciously given.

That’s all.  What are you doing with yours?  Are you starring in your own destiny?  Choose it.  It begins today.  And come what may, either in October, or tomorrow or 100 years from now, don’t you want to look back and say, “I made it count.”

I know I do.

Leave a Reply

