It isn’t enough just to turn on your porch light

Trust me, I do have some lighter posts coming, but I postponed their publish date so I could vent about this.

I’ll join the Caylee Anthony/ Casey Anthony commentary (along with thousands of other bloggers), and say this: the saddest part about the whole thing isn’t the lack of justice.  It’s that a little girl lost her life – regardless of who did it.  I wasn’t glued to the TV, watching the trial.  To be honest with you, I don’t feel like the cameras should even be in the courtroom. (Hello?  Does anyone remember OJ Simpson?) One lady said she spent $3,000 over the course of the trial to camp out and stand in line to get her place in the courtroom 15 times.  Here’s the thing – I have a life.  I have a job.  I can’t afford to spend hours a day watching the trial.  I barely get time to watch my favorite TV show every week.

But even if I did have the time, I still don’t know that I would.  Sure, I read the articles on Yahoo and in the newspaper.  I heard what people were saying.  My opinion is that this woman was a terrible parent.  She was neglectful and self-absorbed and shouldn’t have had a child.

I don’t know if she killed her.  I wasn’t on the jury.  And neither were the “rest of us”.  It is crazy to me how pissed off at the system people are because the verdict wasn’t what the “rest of us” thought.  Guess what?  That is how the system works!  If it was a public trial and we could all call in our votes like American Idol, maybe things would have been different.  But that doesn’t mean it would have been right.  Justice is as justice does.  Her true judgement comes, not from her peers, but before God.  Her role in her child’s life and death will be handled by Him.

That isn’t even the thing that really lights my ass up.  The thing that has me really flaming pissed is the same passive approach people have about child abuse or rape or domestic violence.  We’ll all light our candles or turn on our porch lights “in remembrance of Caylee” but I’ll be damned if a fraction of a percent of these people actually go out and make a real difference.  You want to turn on your porch light?  Great.  How about you stand up to a parent who is screaming at their child in the parking lot of the grocery store?  How about volunteering with at risk youth or teen parent programs?  How about making a charitable donation to a child abuse awareness charity?  How about spending time with new/young mothers and mentor them?  How about writing to your congressman and asking for stricter standards on welfare and government support for families with children?

Or…. turn on your porch light.  And then, tomorrow, when you have the opportunity to invoke real change and make a real difference, you can absolve yourself of responsibility by saying, “Well, I turned on my porch light.”

Yep.  I’m super fired up about this.

I lived in situations that were horrible, so I have a very specific opinion about this.  My mother beat me.  She neglected me.  She verbally abused me.  She ruined my childhood.  You know how many people turned their eyes from it?  You know how many people ignored the writing on the wall?  Lots and lots and lots.  Only one person stepped out of their box and helped me out of that situation and saved my life.  Only one.

So, attention all of you whiners: get over it.  The justice system does exactly what it is supposed to.  Don’t bitch the next time you have jury duty, because there’s a chance that it might be *you* in that box making the decisions about a case like this.  Until then, I hope you do turn on your porch lights.  In the same way that I hope people keep wearing pink ribbons to promote Breast Cancer awareness.

But at the end of the day: fuck awareness.  Try making a change that will make a difference.

And you can quote me on that.

Leave a Reply

