It isn’t cancer!

I am so relieved.  Beyond relieved.  I cried when I got the call… I could hardly keep it together while I was on the phone with her.  It was the best news I have heard in a long time…. it isn’t cancer. What a relief.

There are some take-aways I’ve gotten from this that I am compelled to share:

  • Self-breast exams save lives.  The truth is that if it *was* cancer, we would have caught it within a fairly small window.  Since my daughter has been doing self-exams here and there, she knew when something felt wrong. That is HUGE.  So, to the friend that reminds me to check every month: Thank you. Thank you. Thank you.
  • The relief I feel now has an opposite and wholly horrifying feeling that I know that people all around the world have shared.  If it were cancer, my life would have fallen apart.  And my heart goes out to all of those people.
  • “Those people” aren’t just ladies.  They are also men.  And they aren’t just ladies and men with breast cancer (or any cancer), they are the family of those people.  They are the friends.  They are co-workers.  They are clients.  I had no idea the ripple effect that a scare like this has.  I also had no idea the amount of support that would come, either.  People that had no reason to be there for me, were.  People that are distant, felt close again.  The truth is that it affects everyone.
  • People lose the battle all the time.  And my heart and prayers go out to them.  And their families.  And their friends.  And the people who never knew them.  Because this horrible disease steals life from under us.  And I will pray, donate, and bring awareness until, hopefully, we find a cure.
Today, remember that “normal” and “business-as-usual” is almost always taken for granted.  Trust me, it’s better than the alternative.  And never, ever take your health for granted.  In the blink of an eye, everything can change.
Thank you for the thoughts and prayers and love and everything you did for me – whether at a distance or not.  It means absolutely everything to me.
Leave a Reply

